Warcraft Legacy Starcraft Legacy BlizzForums
The Future?

Go Back   BlizzForums > Games > StarCraft Discussion

StarCraft Discussion StarCraft & Brood War lie herein.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes


Old 07-18-2006
 
#1
Thailand EnlightenedWhiz
Real Old School
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,393
 EnlightenedWhiz was born to leadEnlightenedWhiz was born to leadEnlightenedWhiz was born to leadEnlightenedWhiz was born to leadEnlightenedWhiz was born to leadEnlightenedWhiz was born to leadEnlightenedWhiz was born to lead
Default Moving Interceptors

I saw this in a turret defense game before(not to mention it happening unintentionally in other ones), where they had just interceptors flying. I tried to do this, but I can't seem to get it working.

I created a Carrier with 1 in the hangar property at location 1
Then I used the move carrier to location 2.
Then move inteceptor to location 1.

I was hoping this would send the interceptor from location 1 to 2, but they seem to stay in the carrier. Any idea what's going wrong?

I thought perhaps I'd have to force the carrier to attack, but I was hoping there would be a way around it
 

Last edited by EnlightenedWhiz; 07-18-2006 at 10:22 AM.
EnlightenedWhiz has 3,393 Posts


Sx4R.E.P.S.00X
 

EnlightenedWhiz is offline


pm.gif   
Reply With Quote


Old 07-18-2006
 
#2
BlizzForums spinesheath
Trigger Mathemagician
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,456
 spinesheath is unstoppable!spinesheath is unstoppable!spinesheath is unstoppable!spinesheath is unstoppable!spinesheath is unstoppable!spinesheath is unstoppable!spinesheath is unstoppable!spinesheath is unstoppable!spinesheath is unstoppable!spinesheath is unstoppable!spinesheath is unstoppable!
Default

saltman created a map that does it. I don't know if he would show it to you, but its in the BlizzSCUMS Signup thread

Download, open with TriggerViewer2 and find it out.
 
spinesheath has 1,456 Posts

 

spinesheath is offline


pm.gif Send a message via ICQ to spinesheath  
Reply With Quote


Old 07-18-2006
 
#3
United States AFHOF
Permanent Failure
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,661
 AFHOF fails at lifeAFHOF fails at lifeAFHOF fails at lifeAFHOF fails at lifeAFHOF fails at lifeAFHOF fails at lifeAFHOF fails at lifeAFHOF fails at lifeAFHOF fails at lifeAFHOF fails at lifeAFHOF fails at life
Default

Bolt Head also made an intereceptor map that exhibits some cool properties. If I can dig it up Ill post it.
 
 

AFHOF is offline


pm.gif   
Reply With Quote


Old 07-18-2006
 
#4
Canada !!SaLtMaN!!
Trigger Fingers
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 23
 !!SaLtMaN!! is a glorious beacon of light!!SaLtMaN!! is a glorious beacon of light!!SaLtMaN!! is a glorious beacon of light!!SaLtMaN!! is a glorious beacon of light!!SaLtMaN!! is a glorious beacon of light!!SaLtMaN!! is a glorious beacon of light
Default

I copied Bolt's map out of curiosity on how to do it. I spent a while playing with the AI scripts and such. What you gotta do is get the interceptor out of the carrier, move it to the location, set generic command target at the location you moved it to, then another AI script: Make these units patrol to upper left corner of Anywhere. Voila.
 
!!SaLtMaN!! has 23 Posts
 

!!SaLtMaN!! is offline


pm.gif  Send a message via AIM to !!SaLtMaN!! Send a message via MSN to !!SaLtMaN!!  
Reply With Quote


Old 07-18-2006
 
#5
Thailand EnlightenedWhiz
Real Old School
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,393
 EnlightenedWhiz was born to leadEnlightenedWhiz was born to leadEnlightenedWhiz was born to leadEnlightenedWhiz was born to leadEnlightenedWhiz was born to leadEnlightenedWhiz was born to leadEnlightenedWhiz was born to lead
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by !!SaLtMaN!!
I copied Bolt's map out of curiosity on how to do it. I spent a while playing with the AI scripts and such. What you gotta do is get the interceptor out of the carrier, move it to the location, set generic command target at the location you moved it to, then another AI script: Make these units patrol to upper left corner of Anywhere. Voila.
To get them out you mean put an enemy unit nearby right? I was hoping to get around that requirement...
 
EnlightenedWhiz has 3,393 Posts


Sx4R.E.P.S.00X
 

EnlightenedWhiz is offline


pm.gif   
Reply With Quote


Old 07-18-2006
 
#6
Canada !!SaLtMaN!!
Trigger Fingers
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 23
 !!SaLtMaN!! is a glorious beacon of light!!SaLtMaN!! is a glorious beacon of light!!SaLtMaN!! is a glorious beacon of light!!SaLtMaN!! is a glorious beacon of light!!SaLtMaN!! is a glorious beacon of light!!SaLtMaN!! is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Maybe Starforge will bypass that requirement, but I don't think an interceptor may survive without a parent Carrier. Maybe if you remove the Carrier instead of kill if there's a difference. Doesn't require much space anyways to have an enemy unit somewhere, and a carrier attack for 500ms, move interceptor, remove unit, and make the Carrier stay there. Do what you please, SE has many possibilities.
 
!!SaLtMaN!! has 23 Posts
 

!!SaLtMaN!! is offline


pm.gif  Send a message via AIM to !!SaLtMaN!! Send a message via MSN to !!SaLtMaN!!  
Reply With Quote


Old 07-19-2006
 
#7
Thailand EnlightenedWhiz
Real Old School
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,393
 EnlightenedWhiz was born to leadEnlightenedWhiz was born to leadEnlightenedWhiz was born to leadEnlightenedWhiz was born to leadEnlightenedWhiz was born to leadEnlightenedWhiz was born to leadEnlightenedWhiz was born to lead
Default

It's not the parent carrier that I don't want, its that I don't want to have to have the carrier attack something to get the interceptors out because then I need to use a wait trigger or itll move before it even comes out.
 
EnlightenedWhiz has 3,393 Posts


Sx4R.E.P.S.00X
 

EnlightenedWhiz is offline


pm.gif   
Reply With Quote


Old 07-19-2006
 
#8
BlizzForums spinesheath
Trigger Mathemagician
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,456
 spinesheath is unstoppable!spinesheath is unstoppable!spinesheath is unstoppable!spinesheath is unstoppable!spinesheath is unstoppable!spinesheath is unstoppable!spinesheath is unstoppable!spinesheath is unstoppable!spinesheath is unstoppable!spinesheath is unstoppable!spinesheath is unstoppable!
Default

Well, the intercepor is not created unless the carrier attacks. At least that's what I'd expect and what my experience is. So you can't really move a unit that's not there...
 
spinesheath has 1,456 Posts

 

spinesheath is offline


pm.gif Send a message via ICQ to spinesheath  
Reply With Quote


Old 07-19-2006
 
#9
Canada !!SaLtMaN!!
Trigger Fingers
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 23
 !!SaLtMaN!! is a glorious beacon of light!!SaLtMaN!! is a glorious beacon of light!!SaLtMaN!! is a glorious beacon of light!!SaLtMaN!! is a glorious beacon of light!!SaLtMaN!! is a glorious beacon of light!!SaLtMaN!! is a glorious beacon of light
Default

is it at the beginning of the map? right when the briefing is over? if so then what does it matter if there's a small wait?
You could always let the unit die by the carrier and not have a wait at all.
 
!!SaLtMaN!! has 23 Posts
 

!!SaLtMaN!! is offline


pm.gif  Send a message via AIM to !!SaLtMaN!! Send a message via MSN to !!SaLtMaN!!  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Origin and Fate of the Universe Sean Quixote Chit Chat 128 10-17-2006 01:29 PM
The Devils moving down to Georgia! CajunMan Chit Chat 37 08-25-2006 07:32 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:22 PM.
Designed by XG3